PWA Cabo Verde World Cup

Event Summary - A World Champion is crowned in Cabo Verde, but there’s no new king of Ponta Preta!

From the 15th through to the 23rd November the beautiful island of Sal played host to the world’s wavesailing elite for their grand finale of 2010. Having gone from strength to strength throughout the event’s three-year history, the fourth was expected to deliver conditions of the same epic proportions.

Unfortunately however, after the nine-day holding period was over just five man-on-man heats had been completed at the gnarly location of Curral Joul. This meant the rankings remained unchanged, and the 2010 Pozo champion, Victor Fernandez (Fanatic, North, MFC) claimed his first ever PWA wave world title ahead of three times former freestyle world champion, Ricardo Campello (JP, NeilPryde), and 2009 Pozo champion, Philip Koster (Starboard, NeilPryde, Dakine).

Hottest Heats

Despite there not being an official result, the ten sailors who fought hard during the contest deserve a mention. The first to advance was the master of light wind wavesailing, Thomas Traversa (Tabou, Gaastra) who, having spent plenty of time seeking out similar wave perfection in Indonesia, stamped his authority on Yann Sorlut (RRD, Simmer) on day three.

On the sixth day of competition Sal witnessed the all-British affair of Ross Williams (Tabou, Gaastra) battling it out with Jamie Hancock (Tabou, Vandal) for a place in the final 16. Hancock had far more waves, but in the final few seconds Williams caught the highest scoring ride of the entire day to help him advance.

The next heat was an all-Venezuelan affair with Diony Guadagnino (Hot Sails, MFC) taking on current world number two, Ricardo Campello. Campello’s turns looked more impressive, but Guadagnino was busting out the aerials. It was a close run heat throughout, but in the end the judges gave it to Guadagnino – a godsend for Victor Fernandez in the race for the title, but a huge blow to the three time former freestyle world champion who had his sights set high.

Next to tiptoe their way off the rocks, and ride for their lives along the shore were Alex Mussolini (Tabou, Gaastra) and Jules Denel (Exocet). Denel put up an impressive fight, but with Mussolini launching into aerials over dry sections of rock, it was always going to be tough for the Frenchman to advance. In the end, the 2009 Sylt wave champion, Mussolini won by a convincing margin to secure his spot in the final 16.

The final heat of the contest saw Canarian ripper, Dany Bruch (Patirk, Severne, MFC, AL 360) pass ahead of German, Florian Jung (RRD, Gun, Dakine). After Jung’s first few waves, he spent a prolonged period stuck on the inside, unable to get back out until late in the heat, whilst Bruch racked up the points with some stylish top turns and a couple of aerials. Jung eventually made it back out, but by that time the wind had begun to decrease and the waves flattened off, leaving him with an almost impossible task in the dying minutes.

Casualties Of Curral Joul

German, Florian Jung fell victim to the rocks on the sixth day of competition. Having completed his heat against Bruch, he was hotfooting it home when a wave washed in and forced his sail against his leg. The local doctors said he’d sustained multiple fractures and dislocations to his foot, ankle, and leg, so he flew home immediately to seek the best advice. From everyone here at the PWA, we wish him a speedy recovery.

The Waiting Game

Aside from the two days that saw some windsurfing action, for the remainder of the week the sailors were seen sheltering from the sun in their cars at Curral Joul, or tearing the waves to pieces on their surfboards and SUPs.

Official 2010 PWA Men’s Wave Rankings

1st Victor Fernandez (Fanatic, North, MFC)

2nd Ricardo Campello (JP, NeilPryde, MFC)

3rd Philip Koster (Starboard, NeilPryde, Dakine)

4th Kauli Seadi (JP, NeilPryde, MFC)

5th Dany Bruch (Patrik, Severne, MFC, AL360)

6th Robby Swift (JP, NeilPryde)

7th = Klaas Voget (Fanatic, Simmer, MFC)

7th = Alex Mussolini (Tabou, Gaastra)

9th Jonas Ceballos (Mistral, Simmer)

10th Dario Ojeda (Tabou, Simmer, Dakine, MFC)

Constructors Championship

Following a year of tough competition in the hotly contested constructors championship, JP have finally claimed victory - by the narrowest of margins - ahead of 2009 champions, Starboard in the board brands championship. In the sail brands championship NeilPryde have maintained their position at the top of the field.

Board Brands

1st JP

2nd Starboard

3rd Fanatic

4th Tabou

5th Patrik

Sail Brands

1st NeilPryde

2nd North

3rd Gaastra

4th Severne

5th Simmer

Video Footage

Watch what went on at the Cabo Verde World Cup by tuning into either PWA TV or

Keep in the groove

For more information on all the entrants, and to keep up to date with every piece of the action click on

go to related event