The Nea Awards 2002

The Nea Awards have been held to honour the world’s best extreme sports athletes since summer 2000.

Nea – recognition of excellence in xtreme sports

The 3rd annual Nea Awards: Monday, August 5th, 2002, Munich
The Nea Awards have been held to honor the world’s best extreme sports athletes since summer 2000. The 3rd annual Nea Awards are scheduled to take place during ISPO Sports Trade Show in Munich, Germany, August 5th. The world’s leading athletes in extreme sports will attend and celebrate a cult event and emotional awards show.

Nea Awards ceremony held for a glamorous audience
The awards ceremony will be held at a Munich downtown venue with limited space. 400 invited guests will have the chance to catch the stars, glimpse at the nominees and winners and enjoy finest extreme sports footage and films. Sports Industry, extreme sports media and glamorous guests from all over the world will attend.

At the Nea After Awards Party doors will open and - as the past 2 years have proved – the party will go wild, sexy and hot until dawn. 1000 guests will be welcomed to celebrate the winners. Lounge areas will provide catering and space to meet and chill: The Nea Awards are the outstanding social event of extreme sports in Europe.

New categories of Nea Awards 2002
The Nea Waterman Award
The Nea Big Mountain Award
For the first time ever, The Nea Waterman Award will be given for outstanding achievements in extreme watersports. The Nea Big Mountain Award will be celebrating extreme performances of snowboarders and freeskiiers respectively.

The Nea Lifetime Achievement Award 2002 will be presented by last years winner, Tony Hawk.
The "extremest of the extreme" will be honored in The Nea Special Achievement Award.

The main Nea sports will be cut down to 8 categories female and male:
Skateboarding, MotoX, mountain biking, skiing, snowboarding, windsurfing, kiteboarding & surfing.

The organisational committee works together with leading special interest magazines from Europe, Japan, Australia and The United States. The chief-editors nominate the leading athletes by secret ballot. The votes from all the editorial staffs are then added up and the five most frequent nominees in each category are announced. The announcement of the 2002 nominees will take place on the website on May 21st, 2002.

This years winners are voted by "The Nea Action Sports Master Club" for the first time. This panel of judges is formed by female and male pioneers and legends of extreme and action sports, by former and current world champions, by former Nea Awards winners and active professional athletes and riders.

The Nea Awards 2001 media facts
* In 2001 the nominees originated from 25 countries
* 126 special interest print magazines have been nominating the athletes
* 389 journalists have been watching the show onsite
* More than 18 hours TV coverage world-wide

Joseph Schoeninger, Organiser:
Helen Marinoff, PR: ph +49 172 787 1007