Kevin Pritchard - Laureus World Action Sportsman of the Year Award Nominee

Haiku resident and multiple PWA world champion Kevin Pritchard has been nominated for the prestigious Laureus World Action Sportsman of the Year Award in Barcelona, Spain.


The Laureus World Sports Awards is the annual celebration of achievement, where superior athletes from across the sporting spectrum are judged by the world’s media and legends of the Laureus World Sports Academy.

A glittering collection of the world’s greatest sports stars has been nominated for this year’s awards. The ballot closed on January 31, with a total of 1,068 members of the Laureus World Sports Awards Media Selection Panel from 128 countries casting their votes.

Pritchard faces some tough challengers in his category of World Action Sportsperson of the Year competing against Kelly Slater who has won 8 World Surfing Titles and Travis Pastrana who took home the Gold Medal at the Summer X Games.

Pritchard can put up a good fight with his World Champion Wave World Title along with a 2nd in the Super X discipline and a 3rd in the Racing division for the Professional Windsurfing Association’s World Tour.

Kev and his girlfriend are being flown to Barcelona to attend the event. Award winners will be announced during a televised Awards Ceremony in Barcelona, on the evening of Monday, April 2.

The full list of nominees for the 2007 Laureus World Sports Awards is available at  but to give you an idea of the company Kevin will be keeping here are some of the other nominees!

World Sportsman of the Year

Fernando Alonso (Spain) – second straight winner of the Formula One World Championship
Fabio Cannavaro (Italy) – captain of Italy’s FIFA World Cup winning team
Roger Federer (Switzerland) – winner of three Grand Slam tennis events
Asafa Powell (Jamaica) – fastest sprinter in the world
Michael Schumacher (Germany) - retired after seven Formula One World Championships
Tiger Woods (US) – winner of Open Championship and US PGA golf majors

Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year

Justine Henin (Belgium) – winner of French Open Grand Slam tennis championship
Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia) – winner of European Championship pole vault gold medal
Carolina Kluft (Sweden) – winner of European Championship heptathlon gold medal
Laure Manaudou (France) – winner of four gold medals in European Swimming Championships
Amélie Mauresmo (France) – winner of Wimbledon Grand Slam tennis championship
Maria Sharapova (Russia) – winner of US Open Grand Slam tennis championship

Congratulations Kevin and Good Luck!