PWA Board

PWA Vice President

Phil McGain 

Original and former PWA Chairman. Former Course Racing PBA World Champion. Working to help all aspects of windsurfing. Still Actively racing. see ya on the water!

PWA Chairman

Jimmy Diaz

Jimmy Diaz follows in the footsteps of former chairman Phil McGain, who has held the position for twelve years. Newly elected chairman Jimmy Diaz has been windsurfing since the age of twelve and competed in his first professional event four years later. While getting his university degree in electrical engineering, Diaz competed in the 1992 Olympics for the Virgin Islands. After university Diaz returned to his passion for racing and has been competing on the PWA tour ever since. Diaz has been very involved in the development process at several windsurfing companies, most currently as head of development at a major sail brand. Having seen the PWA go through a fair amount of changes as a competitor Diaz is now eager to contribute to its existence and success in his new role as PWA chairman; “I believe these are very exciting times for the PWA. There is a lot of energy and thought being put into developing a stronger, healthier tour which will help in the growth and promotion of our great sport on all levels. I look forward to working together with the media, event organizers, and other associations to bring about the necessary changes to accomplish this. I would like to thank Phil McGain for his undying dedication to the sport and the many years he invested for the good of the PWA and windsurfing in general.”

PWA Board Member

Graham Ezzy

Born and raised at Hookipa, Graham is known for integrating the classic Hawaiian surf-style into the new-school approach to wave riding. Graham's favorite wave to ride is Jaws and his favorite hobby is reading. He also writes.

2014: 2nd Omeazaki World Performance Event, 9th PWA Cold Hawaii, 5th PWA Aloha Classic
2013: 1st Defi Wind Video Contest, 9th PWA Aloha Classic
2012: 1st Omeazaki World Performance Event
2011: 1st AWT Mexico
2009: 1st PWA Cabo Verde Expression Session

First full year on the PWA tour: 2015

PWA Board Member

Lena Erdil

Lena Erdil has been competing on the PWA tour since 2006 and has participated in all discplines, focusing mainly on SLalom in which she is consistently a top 3 finisher.

Starboard, Point-7, AL360, Red Bull, Chopper Fins, Prolimit, Puma, Bodrumsport

PWA Board Member

Dieter Van Der Eyken

Competing on the PWA Tour since 2010, DIeter has been primarily competing in Freestyle, winning the World Title in 2015, but is also an ccomplished wave sailor with seeveral top 10 results.

Severne Boards, Severne Sails, Continent Seven, Black Project Fins, Brunotti Sportswear

PWA Board Member

Svein Rasmussen

Born 5.6 1963 in Norway.
10 years on the PWA tour,
Previous sailors representative on the PWA board.
12 years as Managing director of Starboard and Severne sails.
Participant in the first Olympic games of windsurfing in Los Angeles, 1984.
4 times World champion in windsurfing.

PWA Board Member

Craig Gertenbach

Fanatic Windsurfing Industry Representative to the PWA. I am the brand manager for Fanatic, have been with the brand since 1995 as PWA racer, then later as tester and finally in the office working in Marketing, product management, sales and brand management since 2000. I work closely with our shaper and team riders on the R&D of the boards, testing almost all final protos with the team. So I know the complete business of our company and industry from a few different perspectives, which helps and keeps it interesting.

I am really looking forward to working together with the rest of the Management board on promoting the PWA and our sport. I believe the PWA is actually in a really good position at the moment, with a lot of potential to grow the number of events. Hopefully the industry, media and riders can work together to keep growing the Tour for the benefit of the sport.

PWA Board Member

Werner Gnigler

For 15 years I worked for F2 and shaped many popular boards like the Comet Slalom or the Xantos ranges. Since 2000 I am with JP and am responsible for the whole board and fin range.

Windsurfing since: 1976
Professional board shaper: 1985